Return to Headlines

Discovery Oaks Elementary Principal selected as Florida’s NAESP 2019 Principal of the Year

The Florida Association of Elementary School Principals (FAEMSP) announced the selection of Tracy McLaughlin as the 2019 NAESP National Distinguished Principal Award winner for Florida.

“This selection validates that Clay County educators, leaders, and support staff can compete with any organization throughout the state and nation. This is a clear indicator that everyone is paying attention to Clay County District Schools in Florida as we have collectively obtained so much for our children and community,” said Superintendent Addison Davis.

From the Florida Association of Elementary School Principals:

The passionate principal is known as an inspiring leader with a clear, comprehensive plan for improving student achievement. Under her leadership, Ridgeview Elementary moved from a “C’ to “A” school. It had the highest learning gains in Clay County, moving from 406 points to 540 points. Both ELA and Math lower quartile gains increased by more than 20 percent. All of these achievements were accomplished with 70 percent of the children living at or below the poverty level, without Title One funding or support. In 2018, McLaughlin was selected to help open and lead the Clay County School District’s first and only STEAM school, Discovery Oaks Elementary.

Addison Davis, Clay County superintendent, said Tracy worked diligently to enhance the educational experiences for all by focusing on the intellectual, social, and emotional aspects of learning.

“As an educational leader, Tracy has consistently proven the ability and skillset to improve teaching and learning,” he continued. “Understanding the complexities linked to increasing student performance, Tracy doubled down on bridging equity gaps, exposing students to a rich and rigorous curriculum, and empowering teachers to deliver quality lessons that meet the spirit of content-based and grade level standards. Once again, I am proud of Tracy and wish her best of luck in the national competition.”

Through its state affiliate, the NAESP National Distinguished Principal program honors elementary and middle-level principals who set high standards for instruction, student achievement, character, and climate for the students, families, and staffs in their learning communities.

“Mrs. McLaughlin’s embodies the qualities of a true servant leader,” said Seth Daub, FAEMSP president. “Her focus is always based on the needs of individual students. As FAEMSP president and the 2018 NDP from Florida, I am honored and excited for Mrs. McLaughlin to represent Florida as our 2019 NAESP National Distinguished Principal!”

McLaughlin will represent Florida in October as she competes for the national title in Washington, D.C.

Addison Davis and Tracy McLaughlin